Board of Trustees

KCC Board - 2016-17

KCC is governed by a seven-member, elected board of trustees which convenes monthly on the Riverfront Campus at 100 College Drive, Kankakee. Most meetings are held on the second Monday of the month at 5 p.m. The board is responsible for establishing institutional policies, approving financial expenditures and the tax levy, appointing and supervising the college president.

Jerald W. Hoekstra of St. Anne serves as board chair; he has been a trustee since 1991. Bradley W. Hove of Bourbonnais, a trustee since 2006, is vice-chair. Patrick D. Martin of Manteno, a trustee since 2005, is secretary.

Other seated trustees, and the years they joined the board, are: Richard J. Frey of St. Anne, 2001; Cathy Boicken of Bourbonnais, 2015; Todd A. Widholm of Clifton, 2010; and Bill Orr of Reddick, 2014.

Annually, the Student Advisory Council appoints a student representative to the board to represent student interests. The student representative for 2016-17 is Abby Fischer of Watseka. Claire Chaplinski serves as legal counsel. KCC’s president is John Avendano, Ph.D.

As shown in the photo above, the board of trustees are: (top row, left to right): Abby Fischer; John Avendano; Richard J. Frey; Todd A. Widholm; Bill Orr; Claire Chaplinski; (front row, left to right); Patrick D. Martin; Jerald W. Hoekstra; Bradley W. Hove; and Cathy Boicken.

For board meeting agendas and minutes, visit