Board of Trustees


KCC Board of Trustees

KCC is governed by a seven-member, elected board of trustees which convenes monthly on the Riverfront Campus at 100 College Drive, Kankakee. Most meetings are held on the second Monday of the month at 5 p.m. The board is responsible for establishing institutional policies, approving financial expenditures and the tax levy, appointing and supervising the college president.

Patrick D. Martin of Manteno serves as board chair; he has been a trustee since 2005. Bradley W. Hove of Bourbonnais, a trustee since 2006, is vice-chair. Todd A. Widholm of Clifton, a trustee since 2010, is secretary.

Other seated trustees, and the years they joined the board, are: Jerald W. Hoekstra of St. Anne, 1991; Richard J. Frey of St. Anne, 2001; Bill Orr of Reddick, 2014; and Cathy Boicken of Bourbonnais, 2015.

Annually, the Student Advisory Council appoints a student representative to the board to represent student interests. The student representative for 2019-20 is Daisy Solorzano of Watseka. Claire Chaplinski serves as legal counsel. KCC’s president is Michael Boyd, Ph.D.

As shown in the photo above, the board of trustees are: (top row, left to right): Daisy Solorzano; Michael Boyd; Richard J. Frey; Jerald W. Hoekstra; Bill Orr; Claire Chaplinski; (front row, left to right): Todd A. Widholm; Bradley W. Hove; Patrick D. Martin; and Cathy Boicken.

For board meeting agendas and minutes, visit